Lab4AI is a high-performance compute platform for AI practice, offering elastic H-class GPU instances to university researchers, AI developers and learners. Each card has 80GB of memory, with FP8 precision and multi-card training supported and NVLink plus InfiniBand between nodes. Users create their own instances and choose Jupyter, VS Code or LLaMA Factory WebUI, or attach from a local IDE over SSH. PyTorch and TensorFlow are preinstalled, and one-click reproduction cases cover biomedicine, autonomous driving, generative media, natural language processing and multimodal work, each with code, dataset and pretrained weights. Billing follows GPU resource and usage time with pay-as-you-go and off-peak discounts, and new users receive compute credit; unit prices and discount rules are described inconsistently across pages, so the checkout page governs.
Lab4AI: on-demand H-class GPU lab for large model work
Lab4AI is a compute-driven AI practice platform that bundles three things into one account: GPU capacity, a cloud experiment environment and a content community. Its distinguishing resource is elastic H-class accelerators with 80GB of memory per card, support for FP8 precision and multi-card training, and NVLink plus InfiniBand links between nodes. It targets university researchers, AI developers and learners, and the pitch is practical rather than conceptual: no card to buy, no environment to configure, log in and run training, fine-tuning or inference.
The first thing that blocks large model work is rarely the idea, it is the GPU. A single fine-tuning run occupies a card for hours or days, and one consumer graphics card does not have the memory or the uptime. Renting a whole machine instead means paying for idle hours. Lab4AI turns capacity into on-demand instances: pick the accelerator type and count, pay by usage time, and take a discount in off-peak windows. The published per-card figure is 80GB of memory, and FP8 plus multi-card support are what decide whether today's models in the tens-of-billions of parameters can be fine-tuned at all.
The real differentiator is one-click reproduction. Reproducing a conference paper normally burns most of the time on environment work: CUDA versions, dependency conflicts, dataset downloads, weight paths. Any mismatch and the reported numbers never appear. Lab4AI packages cases with PyTorch and TensorFlow preinstalled, complete with code, datasets and pretrained weights, across biomedicine, autonomous driving, generative media, natural language processing and multimodal work. The examples listed on the source page include fine-tuning Qwen3-VL with LLaMA-Factory for multimodal and facial emotion recognition, plus a three-minute private deployment of DeepSeek-OCR. For someone reading papers, the value is not saving a few commands, it is getting attention back onto method and result.
The third layer is courses and community. Hands-on lessons ship with a Jupyter or VS Code environment, so you start practising on login instead of installing frameworks locally, and questions go to a user group. That is support as a byproduct of community activity rather than a ticket queue with a response time. One caution matters for budgeting: the source page states two different versions of the offers. The introduction mentions 50 yuan of credit for new users and off-peak rates as low as 45 to 50 percent of list, while the FAQ says 30 yuan on registration plus 20 for joining the group, and down to 25 percent of list in off-peak windows. Treat the checkout page as the only reliable price.
Main capabilities
Elastic H-class GPUs
80GB of memory per card, FP8 precision training and multi-card runs, with NVLink plus InfiniBand between nodes. The vendor claims speeds far above the 4090 and A100 but publishes no third-party benchmark or exact card model.
On-demand instances
Create an instance yourself and choose accelerator type and count, billed by actual usage time. Off-peak discounts suit experiments that are not deadline-bound.
Three work environments
Jupyter, VS Code or LLaMA Factory WebUI per instance. The first suits step-by-step debugging, the last turns fine-tuning parameters into a form instead of a training script.
One-click paper and project reproduction
Cases across biomedicine, autonomous driving, generative media, NLP and multimodal work, plus papers in computer vision, object detection and vision-language-action research, each with code, dataset and pretrained weights.
SSH access
Version 1.7, released in November 2025, added SSH so a local VS Code Remote or PyCharm remote interpreter can attach to the instance for live debugging, file sync and command-line work.
Artifact export
File upload, download and management are supported, so fine-tuned model files and weights can be pulled to local storage or used directly for later deployment.
How to use Lab4AI
- Register and sign in at lab4ai.cn. The source page points straight at the registration form and mentions no invitation or review step.
- To evaluate the platform, use the one-click reproduction entry: pick a case and the environment, code, dataset and compute are all provisioned, so a single action shows a result.
- For your own work, create a new instance, choose accelerator type and count, then pick Jupyter, VS Code or LLaMA Factory WebUI and start it.
- Work the way you prefer: code in the browser, or attach over SSH from a local IDE. Files can be synced through the upload function or from the command line.
- Watch billed time during training, fine-tuning and inference. Scheduling long jobs into discounted off-peak windows is the simplest way to cut cost.
- When the job finishes, download model files and weights, or keep them in instance storage for deployment. Release the instance promptly so nothing bills while idle.
Pricing and access
- Billing is by actual GPU resource and usage time, with pay-as-you-go supported. No per-unit price list is published.
- New-user credit appears in two versions: the introduction says 50 yuan of compute, the FAQ says 30 yuan on registration plus 20 for joining the user group. The total agrees, the entry point does not.
- Off-peak discounts are also described twice: as low as 45 to 50 percent of list in one place, and down to 25 percent in the FAQ. Only the checkout page shows the real charge.
- Whether storage, egress, images and datasets are billed separately is not stated. Teams running long projects should confirm before committing.
Who it suits
- University researchers who need to reproduce conference papers on limited funding and want the environment rebuild time near zero.
- Students and learners without a usable local GPU, for whom free credit and off-peak pricing push an entry experiment into the tens of yuan.
- Independent developers and small teams that want an idea validated as a prototype without spending two weeks on hardware and setup.
- Corporate algorithm teams validating models in healthcare, autonomous driving or finance, needing a temporary multi-card burst without a long procurement.
- Teaching, where a course needs a working environment that students reach by logging in rather than installing frameworks on their own laptops.
Limitations to know first
- No unit price list is published, only pay-as-you-go and discount levels. Check the checkout page before building a budget.
- Credit and discount figures disagree between two pages, which suggests promotional rules change. Do not treat marketing numbers as a standing price.
- The claim of speeds far above the 4090 and A100 is the vendor's own, with no third-party benchmark and no specific H-class model or generation named. Measure cross-card performance with your own workload.
- The licence terms of the datasets and pretrained weights bundled with each case are not described on the source page. Verify original licences before publication or commercial use.
- Support runs through a scanned QR code into a user group, with no ticket or response-time commitment. That is not a channel to rely on before a paper deadline or a launch.
- Instance storage limits, maximum single-run duration and concurrent instance caps are not disclosed, so large projects may hit unwritten ceilings.
- The service is hosted in mainland China, so access stability from abroad plus data export and compliance requirements need separate assessment, especially for sensitive experiments.
Frequently asked questions
How does Lab4AI charge?
By actual GPU resource and usage time, with pay-as-you-go available, plus off-peak discounts and credit campaigns. The source page publishes no complete price list, and its two pages describe the credit amount and discount level differently, so use the checkout page as the source of truth. To control cost, schedule long jobs off-peak and release instances as soon as they finish.
Can I develop from my own local IDE?
Yes. Version 1.7, released in November 2025, added SSH, so a local VS Code Remote or PyCharm remote interpreter can connect straight to the instance for live debugging, file sync and command-line work. You keep the editing experience you know while the compute stays on cloud accelerators.
What if a reproduction case will not run?
The documented route is the community entry, which scans you into a support group for troubleshooting. Most failures come from dataset paths, weight downloads and dependency versions, so verifying those three against the case notes is faster than asking in the group first.
Can I export a fine-tuned model?
Yes. Files can be uploaded, downloaded and managed, so model files and weights can be pulled to local storage or used for later deployment after training or fine-tuning. Export steps vary by project, so check file size against available instance storage beforehand.
Frequently asked questions
How does Lab4AI charge?
By actual GPU resource and usage time, with pay-as-you-go available, plus off-peak discounts and credit campaigns. The source page publishes no complete price list, and its two pages describe the credit amount and discount level differently, so use the checkout page as the source of truth. To control cost, schedule long jobs off-peak and release instances as soon as they finish.
Can I develop from my own local IDE?
Yes. Version 1.7, released in November 2025, added SSH, so a local VS Code Remote or PyCharm remote interpreter can connect straight to the instance for live debugging, file sync and command-line work. You keep the editing experience you know while the compute stays on cloud accelerators.
What if a reproduction case will not run?
The documented route is the community entry, which scans you into a support group for troubleshooting. Most failures come from dataset paths, weight downloads and dependency versions, so verifying those three against the case notes is faster than asking in the group first.
Can I export a fine-tuned model?
Yes. Files can be uploaded, downloaded and managed, so model files and weights can be pulled to local storage or used for later deployment after training or fine-tuning. Export steps vary by project, so check file size against available instance storage beforehand.